Mountain of the Cannibal God – Bedlam in the Cave

Slave of the Cannibal God -VHS-front

vhscollector.com

A good shock can be one of the most exhilarating experiences a movie can give you.  I’m not talking about cheap shocks.  There’s plenty of crazy stuff going on in modern movies that may be shocking, but are of little interest to me.  A good shock might not be as elusive as a genuine chill, but it’s still a rare treat to be treasured whenever it is found.

Like a good scare, the high is never as good as it is the first time you experience it.  You’re always chasing that feeling again.  The problem is, the very nature of shocks makes them hard to find.  For the full effect, you can’t be expecting it.

When I first watched Mountain of the Cannibal God on DVD, I had seen most of the major Italian cannibal movies.  The animal violence is repugnant and ugly and pretty damn shocking, but after the first one (my first was Cannibal Holocaust) it never left me feeling like I couldn’t believe what I just saw.  I knew what I was going to see heading in.

Mountain of the Cannibal God caught me off guard in several ways.  Right off the bat, the slick production values made it feel different than the others.  It felt a little safer.  Of course, a monkey gets killed by a snake early on just to remind me what territory I’m in.  Still, that’s par for the course with these movies.

Another thing, it had name performers in Stacy Keach and Ursula Andress.  Admittedly not the biggest names in Hollywood, but they would still probably be more recognizable to mainstream audiences than Robert Kerman and John Morghen.  Not only that, but Andress was stripped nude and slathered with something yellow and slimy.

None of that blew me away though.  It wasn’t until the scene in the cave at the end of the movie that I said “Holy shit!” out loud three times in short order.  I’m not usually that demonstrative during movies, but this was an involuntary reaction.  Sort of like an audible flinch.  I probably should have just gasped, but “Holy shit!” just rolled off the tongue.  Not only that, but each “Holy shit!” was louder than the previous one.  I’m lucky it only happened three times or I probably would have started to upset the neighbors.

I was already captivated as Andress was stripped and slathered.  Maybe she’s not the biggest star at this point, but they didn’t go easy on the former Bond girl here.  She’s able to hold her own with other exploitation stars of the era.  The fact that she could hack it in a movie like this makes her cool in my book (which, I’m sure, was her ambition).

Anyway, after things get swinging, we catch a glimpse of some of the natives having sex.  It doesn’t seem like cinematic sex, and if it’s simulated, Martino certainly had an eye toward accuracy.  All the sheen from the earlier scenes in the movie is completely gone.  This is some dirty and frenzied dorking.  Usually you know by about 90 minutes into a movie if you’re going to see something like that.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 12.13.14 PM

Holy Shit #1

As the overall arousal level in the cave rises, some people do the natural thing in such a situation and begin openly masturbating.  Not entirely shocking given what we just saw, but one of the women takes it a step beyond what I was expecting and inserts a finger.

Again, this isn’t the most shocking material in its own right, but it can really catch you off guard when there hasn’t been much in the way of sexuality to this point.  At least now, the audience can be ready for whatever is thrown their way.  I’d think that, although the level of shocking material may be maintained, it probably wouldn’t be elevated.  I would be wrong.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 12.14.31 PM

Holy Shit #2 (She’s not missing a finger)

The next shot features a guy screwing what appears to be a really big pig from behind.  Not being overly familiar with pigs and boars, I can’t say with absolute certainty what animal is on the receiving end of this furious pounding.  What I can say is that the animal seems remarkably indifferent to the whole ordeal.  It’s just busy grazing on whatever it is that seems to be growing in this cave.  At what frequency is this sort of shit happening?

Call me a prude if you want to, but seeing guys fuck pigs always catches me off guard.  I’m pretty sure Martino could have thrown anything at me after that and I would have felt like we were back to the light stuff.  There’s a level of decency that you expect filmmakers to not go past (in any genre, even cannibal movies), and Martino had blown past that a few “holy shits” ago – and I completely love him for it.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 12.14.34 PM

Holy Shit #3

I was so desensitized in about 90 seconds, that seeing some little person getting his skull cracked open after the world’s wimpiest kick barely registered.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 1.17.57 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-23 at 1.18.30 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 1.18.33 PM

Poor little guy.  His skull falls off so easily!

This entry was posted in 80s, Cannibal, Euro Horror, Sleaze, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Mountain of the Cannibal God – Bedlam in the Cave

  1. Does anything prepare you to see a guy pounding a pig? lol

    I haven’t seen this one yet, but I now feel as if I must, if only for the curiosity, though I do love Ursula Andress. One very beautiful woman there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. filmfunkel says:

    That pig cracks me up. I wonder if casually grazing as it does made the actor a bit insecure on his performance. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dr. Jose says:

    “Call me a prude if you want to, but seeing guys fuck pigs always catches me off guard.” That made me laugh. I gotta seek this one out! For, uh, educational…purposes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      As a colleague (are all fake doctors colleagues?) I think we have an obligation to seek things out for educational purposes. You’re a good man for bearing this responsibility.

      As I was saying earlier though, watch out for the Slave of the Cannibal God version. I think the cave scene is missing.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aaron says:

    I’ve been on a nonstop crusade for dirty and frenzied dorking for the better part of thirty years now. Guess I haven’t been patronizing the right caves.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Matt says:

    I just watched this movie again after first catching an original uncut version on VHS back in 1984 and there seems to be a short bit missing from the cave scene where Ursula gets rubbed down. I can’t be certain now, because that VHS tape was dumped together with the player when Laser Discs took over, but somewhere at the back of my mind is a part of that scene where one of the girls moves down between Ursula’s thighs to give her more attention there with some finger work and eventually gets her off. It wasn’t explicit like the native girl’s scene, just a quick shot of the girl’s hand moving into place among Ursula’s curls and then they zoom into her face to catch her changing reactions to the girl’s deft fingers.

    Did I perhaps imagine or dream it or was it from some other cannibal show?

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      That’s interesting. I’ve never heard of those additions. They do sort of linger around her thighs a bit, so it would make sense. It’s hard to imagine it was from a different movie because Andress is so striking and not easy to mix up with another actress.

      Truthfully though, the first time I saw Mountain was when Anchor Bay put it out on DVD. I haven’t actually seen any of the Slave of the Cannibal God cuts. I know it was on a budget DVD about 10 years ago. I wonder if, in addition to the explicit cuts, there a few alternate shots.

      Thanks for you comment! It gives me something to think about.

      Like

    • drhumpp says:

      Also, was your VHS an import, bootleg, or the US release?

      Like

  6. Tony Parsons says:

    Dear God, the version I saw years ago in the eighties never had this stuff in it! This takes it to another level. All I can remember is the dwarf’s skull cracking open, and Andress being stripped and slathered. But then, who would ever forget that?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. vinnieh says:

    Well this looks very disturbing and intense. You have interesting taste in film.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Paragraph Film Reviews says:

    At the risk of sounding like a dirty old man I’ll NEVER forget the image of Ursula being held captive in this one. Must have been about 16 when I first saw it and it’s ingrained on the brain!

    I also love getting a good “Holy Shit” moment… when you think nothing much can shock you, and you get caught off guard! Doesn’t happen too often. but they’re something to cherish!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      This is a place where dirty old men are safe and respected. 🙂 Ursula looks incredible in this movie.

      I agree about a good shock. They are extremely hard to come by for me. That’s what makes them so special. It takes something more than extreme or graphic ideas (like the Human Centipede), it needs to be set up well to be effective.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment