Sleepaway Camp II – The Green Pool

sc2I’m not an outdoors-y person at all.  I do love camping though, and I’m pretty sure this comes from my complete adoration of 80s camp set slasher movies.  The more a campground looks like something I saw in Friday the 13th, Sleepaway Camp, or The Burning, the more likely I am to completely fall in love with the place.

While the ideal camp for me will always feel like the northeastern US, a few movies have been shot elsewhere and still managed to capture that feeling.  Most notable is Sleepaway Camp 2.  I love Camp Rolling Hills and I would love to explore that place.  The woods look great and the cabins have the perfect feel.  The only thing that’s missing is a picturesque lake for frolicking and skinny dipping, etc.

In its place, there’s a pool.  A pool doesn’t seem quite as camp-y to me, but it still sort serves the purpose.  Valerie Hartman does get tossed in wearing a white t-shirt.  Again, this is not as good as a skinny dipping scene where the woman has to search for her missing clothes, but it’ll do.  It’s purely mathematical – Lake > Pool, Skinny Dip > Wet T-Shirt.

vlcsnap-2016-05-15-08h58m01s440

It’s like the quadratic formula of perversion

So, even if it is a mild disappointment, I can get over the replacement of the lake with a pool.  The movie is strong and makes up for the lack of skin several times over in the short run time.  What I have a harder time with is the color of the pool.  The water is completely green.  It’s not just a little off or not quite blue enough, it’s flat out green.  What kind of camp are they running here?  At one point the camp owner laments about not being able to get the best kids around to attend his camp anymore.  I’m pretty sure the fact that they had all the campers swimming in a murky bog had something to do with this.

vlcsnap-2016-05-14-20h50m05s189

Without the pool chairs and cement, this would be classified as a swamp

What’s most peculiar about the whole thing is that no one in the movie seems to notice.  It would work if a few characters made some comments about how gross the water looks or at least acknowledged that something was off.

vlcsnap-2016-05-14-20h51m43s617

vlcsnap-2016-05-14-20h52m46s432

Shouldn’t they acknowledge that someone is likely to come up at least slightly mutated?

It makes me wonder if the cast had any issues with this.  Why was director Michael Simpson so dead set on using the pool?  It’s not like there were any scenes set there that were integral to the plot.  They could have easily been shifted the scenes elsewhere or even nixed them all together.  If he felt like they were absolutely necessary, couldn’t he have shot it so that the water was not visible in the frame?  Maybe that would have compromised the original vision slightly, but it would have been a whole lot less distracting than the green pool we were left with.

Alas, he didn’t.  Perhaps he thought that no one would notice or that, if everyone just acted naturally, the green pool would seem normal.  Maybe it does.  I’ve been watching this movie somewhat regularly for more than twenty five years and I’ve very rarely heard other people complain about the pool.  Maybe I’m the weird one after all.

This entry was posted in 80s, Sequels, Slasher and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Sleepaway Camp II – The Green Pool

  1. emmakwall says:

    Nice post! I have all the Sleepaway Camp films on DVD but still yet to watch this one or the third one. I love Sleepaway Camp though 🙂 it’s a fun, strange movie.

    That picture of the wet, white t-shirt is outrageous!!!

    I will definitely watch this soon, I agree that a lake is far more camp-ier than a swimming pool! I love how you pick up on these little things and query them 🙂 maybe they wanted us to think of the swimming pool AS a lake – and that explains the colour?! I agree though, it’s manky looking. Ever heard of chlorine?

    Camping I generally have never enjoyed. I think the idea is far better than the reality, which is really just feeling damp, cold, dirty and miserable. Thinking about it, apart from when I was younger, the only times I’ve camped as an adult I have also got drunk. That’s no coincidence!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      Manky – what a great word. It will be used tomorrow!

      I like Sleepaway Camp II a lot, but it’s nothing like the first one. It’s much more in line with the late 80s slashers with a twinge of the meta stuff that got a little out of control in the late 90s. I can’t wait to hear what you think.

      It’s funny, most of my camping nostalgia comes from slasher movies and not actual experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall says:

        Did you use it?!!! Some people I know use it to describe a hangover (my mum for example) but I just generally use it for, you know, like, green looking swimming pools 🙂

        I love how your nostalgia comes from slasher movies and not camping!!! So when you DO go camping are you fearful / hopeful of a slash attack?!

        I will watch this SO SOON!!!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • drhumpp says:

        I absolutely did! I think I forced it a little to describe some water I put in a bottle at school. None of the kids knew what it meant, but a few were interested by it. A few pick up vocabulary quickly, so I bet it will begin to spread.

        When I camp, I’m mostly hopeful for a quiet night with no crying from my kids. When that’s checked off, I sometimes like to pretend I heard something deep in the woods. The same woods where a massacre occurred years ago. My daughter doesn’t like this game 😉

        Looking forward to hearing what you think of Sleepaway Camp 2!

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall says:

        I’m delighted I could help to introduce those kids to the word ‘manky’! What an honour 🙂

        The same woods where a massacre occurred years ago. Are these the very same woods that are also next to the abandoned theme park, opposite the haunted cabin and between the lake where the sexy teens drowned on Halloween night?????

        Liked by 1 person

      • drhumpp says:

        The very same. You’re linguistically inclined and perceptive 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall says:

        Yay! I think I stole some of it from a Simpsons Treehouse of Horror but I won’t turn down those compliments!!

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • drhumpp says:

        I knew it sounded familiar. A well placed reference is an art form in its own right.

        Like

  2. Great article! It’s funny, but I never really picked up on the pool thing. I have no idea why either. Strange thing too is that I grew up on by a lake, so why I didn’t question it is a little boggling.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aaron says:

    Another great post, but I’m a little concerned that we can now quantify levels of perversion. Like if I enter my personal information into the equation, does the FBI just show up at my door?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A lot of camp sites also have a pool in the NE area, so I can see them including it. It also makes shooting a lot easier 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I could absolutely see a pool being easier during production. Fewer variables to contend with, for sure.

      Still, a lake adds to that feeling of wilderness that I love in camp slashers. Then again, this is coming from the least respected wilderness expert available. My point of reference for all this stuff is pretty much exclusively camp slashers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tony Parsons says:

    After scanning this page, I am now officially a Valerie Hartman fan. I haven’t seen the film yet. How superficial am I?

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I would say you’re just superficial enough 🙂 .

      It’s a shame I’ve only seen Hartman in this movie. She is a high point for late 80s style.

      I’d love to hear what you think of this one. I think it’s a ton of fun.

      Like

  6. Paragraph Film Reviews says:

    I think it may be related to the colour timing of the film that’s making this look so manky? And it’s not helped by reflecting all of the trees from the nearby woods? Even so – a pool that colour would be fair game in Scotland if we ever had weather like that.

    Never seen any of the Sleepaway Camp films, but always wanted to as one of my favourite bands, cKy are obsessed with them. Oh, and that wet t-shirt shot has sold me on it too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      That’s the second time manky has been used in the comments here. What a word! How have I never heard it before?

      I remember going to a campground with my kids that had a similarly manky 😉 pool. The guy told us it was safe to swim in and that he had just shocked it (probably by telling it a dirty joke) and that it was completely safe. It still looked too gross for me.

      One of the guys from CKY married Felissa from the original Sleepaway Camp. The first two are the best, but they’re so different that I know a lot of people that like one and hate the other.

      I’m glad that wet t-shirt shot has been such a crowd pleaser!

      Like

  7. Matt says:

    You’re braver than me. I have to will myself not think of camp-set horror movies when I go camping or I won’t be able to sleep.
    That’s a good point about the pool. You’d think that if that was the only pool they could get for some reason, having a couple of characters comment on it would be an easy fix.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I think I’ve overwatched them at this point. I’m still a chicken though – especially with regards to animals. Skunks always make me panic and I nearly shit me pants when I saw a bear.

      I agree about the easy fix.

      Like

  8. markmc2012 says:

    I think I saw this once and remember very little about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. LMAO! I laughed this entire post!

    “I’m pretty sure the fact that they had all the campers swimming in a man murky bog had something to do with this.”

    Yessss! Yes, I’m sure it does! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

