The Prophecy – Recess Time!

The Prophecy frontI sometimes wonder how accurately I’m remembering recess from elementary school.  It was 15 minutes of pure chaos that sometimes descended into near race riots.  By the school entrance, there were a few adults whose entire function was to yell to students when it was time to line up.  During the actual recess time, all the kids ran down to the grass with a football and played something called Kill the Man With the Ball.

The ambiguity of the title might have you think that we were hitting each other with a ball, but it was just an unorganized game of tackle football where one person had the ball and everyone else tried to tackled him.  Hard.  The race element came later on when it seemed the different groups would gather together and try to destroy each other.  It’s a miracle that no one got seriously hurt.  It was like a miniature Lord of the Flies every day around 10:30.

To this day, I don’t know how much of this the teachers were aware of.  Was it just a “boys will be boys” kind of thing?  Not sure, but they weren’t even a factor that any of the kids considered.  As far as we were concerned, they weren’t even there.  It was sort of like Massacre at Central High.  The adults weren’t explained out of the story slasher movie style.  They existed; they just weren’t ever there.

The 1995 movie The Prophecy caught a little bit of that magic.  During recess, the kids are able to sneak off into an abandoned building to hang out with a dying angel.  In their defense though, they thought he was just a regular dying vagrant.

It’s about one second of screen time that always tickles me though.  As the teacher is handing out playground balls, one little boy picks one up and bounces it off of another kid’s head.  That, in and of itself, is not all that curious, but they way it was shot was so perfect.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First off, either the kid on the receiving end of the ball is either the best actor I’ve ever seen, or this was completely unexpected.  He doesn’t tense up, flinch, or prepare for this blow in any way.  It makes me wonder how that played out on set.  Was it rehearsed where he just took the ball and ran and, if so, whose idea was it to nail the bigger kid during the actual take?  I think the two prime suspects are the actor and the director.

The shot cuts away immediately after too, so it makes me think the kid on the receiving end broke character to either yell, “What the hell?” or to beat the shit out of the peckerhead who hit him.  Either way, I would love to catch some outtakes or behind the scenes footage from this scene.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 11.47.10 AM

This is how I looked before I had the blood of a small child on my hands.

I really know nothing about how this shot went down, but it completely gives the impression of spontaneity that is hard to capture in a pre-planned scene.  It usually seems so obvious when a movie is trying to fake it, to say nothing of reality TV.  I love that this is a completely inconsequential scene to the rest of the movie.  I can’t imagine that it would be worth it to try to craft the scene as such.  Everything worked out perfectly though and this is definitely one of those moments to bottle up and treasure.

This entry was posted in 90s and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Prophecy – Recess Time!

  1. Tony Parsons says:

    Wow, your school recesses must have been a challenge! Mine were pretty easy-going in comparison. I’ve never noticed this offbeat moment from the Prophecy, but I always felt it was a pretty compelling film with Christopher Walken playing a jealous, emotional villain! I love how Viggo Mortensen plays Satan as well … an all round great film. The sequels, I’m not so sure …

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I’m probably exaggerating the recesses a bit, but, compared to what we do today, there was no supervision.

      I love The Prophecy. For as incredible an actor as Walken is, he never gets lead roles. He looked like he was having a ton of fun here.

      Viggo was incredible as well. This was the first time I had seen him since Chainsaw 3.

      As for the sequels, Walken is still fun in them. I remember enjoying the third one because of the callbacks to the original and seeing Walken’s character change. I haven’t watched it since it was a new release though.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed all the films and have seen them many times over. If they didn’t have Walken, they would not have been as fun I think. I don’t remember that scene whatsoever, but will keep an eye out for it the next time I pop the movie in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      In the mid 90s, good horror movies were harder to come by. I was surprised by how much I loved this one (Lord of Illusions was supposed to be the big genre movie). I watched it a bunch of times.

      I liked the first three. You’re right about Walken – he’s so much fun to watch. I didn’t see any of the ones they did without him. Are they worth a look?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

