Death by Dialogue – Ken Sagoes Lives!

The death of the VHS format was bittersweet.  As a horror fan, it was hard not to be excited about the potential that the DVD format offered.  Audio commentaries, interviews, and, most importantly, good looking widescreen transfers had me rediscovering so many of my old favorites after years of experiencing them only on worn out ex-rentals.  I could never afford laserdiscs, so this was my first chance to enjoy these types of premium features.

Still, it was sad to see the video stores go.  Before Blockbuster started pushing everyone around, every little video store had its own personality.  You could find different titles in every store and it seemed like the well would never dry up completely.

By the late 90s, the writing was on the wall though, and many of the best stores were closing down.  The ones that weren’t bought out by Blockbuster were selling off their old stock.  As sad as it was to see them go, there were some incredible opportunities to own a lot of videos that weren’t usually for sale and showed no signs of getting a DVD release.

It was almost a sport for my friend and me.  Without exaggeration, we could easily leave a store with three or four boxes busting full of ex-rentals.  We would sit for hours going through our finds and planning out our viewing schedules.  I can’t think of many instances of pure contentment in my life that rival this feeling.

That brings me to today’s addition.  Because the videos were so cheap, you could stand to be a lot less selective than usual with your purchases.  Many of the movies I bought were purchased based off of the absurdity of the box.  Death by Dialogue was one of my favorites out of this category.  At a quick glance it’s not something that would catch my eye.  It looked a little too supernatural and action oriented and I was mostly looking for slasher, sleazy, or just plain weird movies.  But a closer inspection revealed a tagline unlike any I had ever seen before.  Take a look:

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 10.55.52 AM

Where do I begin with that line?  Is the fact that Ken Sagoes is present a huge selling point?  I guess I understand if that’s all they have, but they don’t even write, “Starring Ken ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street 3’ Sagoes” or anything.  They write it like Ken Sagoes himself, not his character, survived the ordeal.  When I think of Nighmare 3, the surviving kids were Kristen, Joey, and Kincaid – not Kristen, Joey, and Ken Sagoes.

Not only that, but it says that he’s back (punctuated by three exclamation points).  Where did he go. Was anyone missing him?  This came out the year after Nightmare 3.  He wasn’t gone long enough to be missed.  He was also in Nightmare 4 the same year, but he, sadly, did not survive this one.  “Ken Sagoes, the kid who died first in ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street 4’ is back!!!” doesn’t have the same ring to it.

Also, being back implies that you were there before.  Jamie Lee Curtis was back in Halloween: H20, but I wouldn’t say that she was back in Virus, she was just there.

True Lies VHS Front Cover

Jamie Lee Curtis, the woman who survived ‘A Fish Called Wanda’ is back!!!

If that wasn’t enough to convince me to add Death by Dialogue to my pile, the back of the box was.

Ken Sagoes of course takes center stage here, but not in the way you would expect.  He’s obviously the focal point of whatever marketing strategies Death by Dialogue has, so I’d expecting him in some action scene or showing off his acting chops with some exaggerated emotion.  Look closer; instead we get apathy.

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 10.57.00 AMI haven’t watched the movie recently enough to know if that shot is even in the movie.  Maybe it was designed this way so you knew it was that Ken Sagoes.  After all, the tag line on the front was slightly ambiguous.

Having spent a bit of time looking at this box, I’m wondering how that strategy would work if applied to other actors…

Irwin

This entry was posted in 80s and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Death by Dialogue – Ken Sagoes Lives!

  1. Aaron says:

    Haha, they may as well have put his professional head shot on the back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s awesome. I used to purchase all sorts of garbage on VHS and while they might have been horrible, I loved them all. Sadly my collection is all gone as I made the jump to DVD.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      Finding weird stuff you had never heard of was best thing about VHS.

      I kept most of mine, but most are boxed up and some have spent a few winters in the garage. I don’t know why I’m such a packrat.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A horrible movie in the best possible way. Still a very fun watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I haven’t watched it in many years. I dug out the box for this post but ended up using the scans from vhscollector.com instead. Maybe I’ll throw it in again soon. I should probably dump it on DVD-r anyway.

      Like

  4. Jay says:

    Our last ‘video store’ just recently bit the dust. It was a film nerd guy with a fount of recommendations and an eclectic inventory. Miss it terribly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      I miss having them around too. Something was lost when they switched over to DVD. There was less oddball stuff and it seemed like most stores had the same stock.

      Still, the few years where everything was for sale was incredible. If I was rich, I would have bought enough to stock a very weird video store. All things considered, I did get a ton of stuff.

      Like

  5. Tony Parsons says:

    Have never heard of Death by Dialogue before … is it any good? To be honest, I hadn’t heard of Ken Sagoes before either!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drhumpp says:

      Death by Dialogue made very little impression on me. I remember enjoying it enough, but I haven’t watched it in years (since VHS days).

      Ken Sagoes is pretty memorable in Nightmare 3 & 4.

      Like

Leave a Reply

