It’s starting to feel like home

I’ve moved around quite a bit in my life and every time I swear that it’s the last time.  As much as I hate the work though, moving is exciting.  A new house/apartment is sort of like a new adventure.  You can’t find your way around in the dark but there’s always a chance you’re going to find some nook or cranny you didn’t know existed.

That’s what this new site is like for me.  I’ve also been slowly unpacking some of my favorite curious moments and speculating about what I want to include next.

It still felt like someone else’s place though. The design wasn’t my own, it was just a template that any number of people could be using.  My posts were just text, and the banner was just a generic photo (albeit, a nice one) available from wordpress.

Well, I’ve finally added some screen captures to some of the posts, but most importantly, I have a custom banner.  Not just any banner, but one from the venerable Boris Lugosi from Girls, Guns, and Ghouls.

I’ve known Boris for the better part of a decade now and have had great fun reading his site.  If you haven’t been, you owe it to yourself to check it out.  The man has a true passion for offbeat cinema.

When I decided to set up shop here, I asked him if he could make something nice for the front page.  I knew I was in good hands when he agreed and he didn’t disappoint.  The banner that sits on top of the page captures the perfect balance of horror, sleaziness, and general weirdness that I envision for this place.

Thanks, Boris.  You’re a great talent and a great friend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

