Halloween H20 – The Digital Mask

h20 vhs

This is an admittedly strange entry for me.  I don’t particularly care for any of the teen slasher movies that came in the wake of Scream.  Not that they were incompetently made in comparison to their 80s counterparts, they just don’t appeal to me.

Occasionally though, there is a moment that strikes a chord with me.  A moment that makes the entire movie worthwhile.  In this case, the moment is utterly ridiculous:

H20 Digital

The story goes that there was quite a bit of contention between the creative team and the powers that be as to what Michael Myers’s mask should look like in what was hoped to be a return to form.  One of the masks being used was nixed during principle photography and all the close ups had to be replaced.  I think most were reshot, but somehow this little doozy wasn’t added until post production.  How bad must the other mask have looked in order for this to be considered an improvement?

H20 Digital

Seriously. How bad?

Maybe I have the story wrong.  I doesn’t really matter to me how it happened.  All that matters is that that thing is now a part of film history.

Judging from the feedback I’ve read online, the CGI mask is universally reviled.  I agree, it looks terrible.  But I can’t deny that I am fascinated by it.  Upon my most recent revisit to the Halloween series, I must have rewound and paused that one shot at least half a dozen times.  Each time, I cracked myself up and asked, “What the hell is that?”

Maybe I wouldn’t enjoy this shot as much if I actually liked the rest of the movie, but as it stands, this is the part I look forward to most.

Even if it wasn’t for the reasons they intended, Steve Miner and co. have provided a moment in a movie that I truly love.  I can be having the worst day imaginable, but I know that I can always count on this shot to bring me a smile.  Laugh if you must, but I’m proud to add CGI Michael Myers to my curious collection!

H20 Digital

Heh heh. It never gets old!

This entry was posted in 90s, Slasher and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween H20 – The Digital Mask

  1. Jeff says:

    I wish he wore the CGI mask through the whole movie!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Fringe Void says:

    Wow, I never noticed this! Then again, I own a washed-out VHS copy of H2O. At exactly what point in the movie is this shot?

    Like

    • drhumpp says:

      It’s right before he kills the kid that had been reaching in the garbage disposal. You can see it about 1 minute into this clip

      H20 was actually the first of the series that I didn’t buy on VHS. I never actually owned it until the recent blu ray box.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

